International Advisory Committee

Partners in strategy and preparation

Actively involved in the G-STIC preparation process

G-STIC 2019 is guided by an International Advisory Committee that is composed of more than 30 senior representatives from UN agencies and participating expert institutes in one or more of the G-STIC thematic clusters or one or more cross-cutting themes. The IAC is responsible for advising the co-hosts on the strategy and preparation of the conference as a whole.


Name Organization Function
Ulrik Lenaerts Belgian Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs Adviser Climate Policy Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs, External Trade and Development Cooperation
Peter Wittoeck Belgian Federal Public Service Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment Head of Climate Change Section
Peter Wollaert CIFAL Flanders UNITAR Fellow | Managing Director CIFAL Flanders
Jukka Uosukainen Climate Technology Centre & Network (CTCN) Director
Michael Kuhndt Collaborating Centre on Sustainable Consumption and Production (CSCP) Executive Director
Luis Neves Global e-Sustainability Initiative (GeSI) Chairman
Robby Berloznik G-STIC / VITO Director Programme G-STIC
Veerle Vandeweerd G-STIC Former Director Environment and Energy of UNDP / Director Policy G-STIC
Nebojsa Nakicenovic International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) Deputy Director General / Deputy Chief Executive Officer
Hans Friederich International Network for Bamboo & Rattan (INBAR) Director General
Malcolm Johnson International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Deputy Secretary-General
Tom Williams International Water Association (IWA) Interim Executive Director
Pieter Ballon Interuniversitair Micro-Elektronica Centrum (IMEC) Director SMIT
Gabriela Fischernova Technology Executive Committee (TEC)
Hafeez Rehman TERI Senior Director Europe
Leena Srivastava TERI University Vice Chancellor
Shamika Sirimanne UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) Chief Socioeconomic Analysis Section
Richard Alexander Röhrl UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) Senior Economic Affairs Officer
Zitouni Ould-Dada UN Environment Programme (UNEP) - Paris Head of Technology Unit, Division of Technology Industry and Economics (DTIE)
Rene Castro UN Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) Assistant-Director General
Wanna Tanunchaiwatana UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Manager Technology (Finance, Technology and Capacity Building Programme
Coordinator, SBSTA)
Nick Nuttall UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Spokesperson/Director of the Communication and Outreach Programme (CO)
Andre Dzikus UN Habitat Coordinator UBSB
Philippe Scholtès UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) Managing Director Programme Development and Technical Cooperation
Nikhil Seth UN Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR) UN Assistant Secretary - General, Executive Director UNITAR
Donovan Guttieres UN Major Group for Children & Youth (UN MGCY) Focal Point Science-Policy Interface Platform
Yannick Glemarec UN Women UN Assistant Secretary General, Deputy Execuctive Director UN Women
Kazuhiko Takemoto UN University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS) Director
Paul Holthus World Ocean Council Chief Executive Officer

Keep me informed on G-STIC